City of Winnipeg | Libraries
winnipeg.ca

Youth Advisory Council Picks for I Love to Read Month!

Each year our Youth Advisory Council members  put forward their picks for I Love to Read Month. This year, we have a great list of picks to recommend!

Picks from the Charleswood YAC

hunger-games throneofglass lookingforalaska1 chroniclesofnick

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
I really enjoyed the books. I feel like Katniss is a good role model because she stood up for what she believed in and never backed down.
-Rylee

eragonEragon by Christopher Paolini
My favourite book is Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I really like the book because it is a fantasy book and fantasy is one of my favourite genres. I got to know the characters and their personalities and they were all relatable and I started caring about what was going to happen to them.
-Russell

The Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon
I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys either coming of age books or supernatural themes where the main character has the potential to become the one who destroys the planet.
-Gaby

intheshadowofblackbirdsIn the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
Historical fiction with the supernatural mixed in, this book will suck you in and leave you wanting more. In the Shadows of Blackbirds is a fantastic novel, for anyone who likes to read, and I definitely recommend it for people that like history, ghosts, and spirits.
-Hannah


Throne of Glass
by Sarah J. Maas
This is the first book in what is expected to be a six book series. It is action packed and very exciting. Recommended to fans of high fantasy books.
-Amy

cityofbonesThe Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
I would recommend this book because it’s very interesting and will keep you hooked until the very end. Also it is part of a pretty long series so it’ll keep you busy for a while. This series will keep you wanting more even when you’re done reading all the books!
-Kristin

Looking for Alaska by John Green
It’s about a boy who moves to Alabama to attend boarding school where he meets his new best friends.
Arianna

Picks from the Fort Garry YAC

slayerchronicles harrypotterandthephilosophers neverletmego

The Slayer Chronicles by Heather Brewer
Lots of action and suspense to keep the reader on the edge of their seat while also giving subtle hints of how the ending plays out. It’s a good pick for people who like novels about vampires… but without all of the supernatural romance stuff you find these days (also check out its spin-off series, The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod)
Sachini

The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling
The tales of a Harry Potter, a young boy who finds out he is capable of magic and is a wizard, will certainly satisfy your adventurous side. From one chapter to the next, there will be endless thrilling events; you won’t even be able to put the books down!
Danica

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
Every page of the book will leave you wanting to know more, and you’ll find yourself emphathizing and relating to the well developed characters in the novel. As you grow up with the characters in the book, you’ll discover the little things that define humanity. It’s definitely a thought provoking and worthwhile read that I couldn’t put down!
-Vanessa

Picks from the Millennium YAC

redshirts outsiders colourless candymakers

Redshirts by John Scalzi
Awesome, funny, perfect for fans of Star Trek.
Lauren

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
This novel is a harsh bite of reality that is extremely relatable to readers. Amazing symbolism is used in an engaging way for all.
Irina

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and his years of pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami
A journey of a man that deals with love, friendship and heartbreak.
Dana

The Candymakers by Wendy Mass
It’s a great book from different points of view and it talks a lot about food.
Maryam

Picks from the Pembina Trail YAC

misspergerineshomeforpeculiarchildren ravenboys

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Jacob Portman’s Grandfather loves to tell fantastical stories about peculiar people and terrible monsters that Jacob has long since stopped believing. Then his Grandfather dies in a sudden and terrifying way leaving Jacob with only a handful of enigmatic last words. To discover more about his Grandfather, Jacob journeys on a plot-twisting adventure to a tiny island off the coast of Wales to find out if the stories that he was told hold more truth than he once thought. This book is a bit like the works of Tim Burton in the form of a book. It is peculiar and it is strange, but in the most attention-grabbing “I don’t want to put this book down” way possible.
Robyn

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
I love all of Maggie Stiefvater’s books, but The Raven Boys is by far one of my favourites. The Raven Boys is a completely unique book, that has everything that someone could want, from magic and psychics to boarding school boys to welsh legends. This book will have you flipping the pages as fast as you can to find out what will happen next, as there are plot twists every other sentence.
Bronwyn

Picks from the St. James-Assiniboia YAC

restofus heartandotherblack tsubasa

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
Ever wonder who the background kids of fiction novels are? Well this book depicts normal teens who live in the background of the glorious heroes, and who just want to graduate in one piece. The book revolves around our narrator Mike, his sister and their two friends; even though one is a quarter cat-god they are all pretty much normal, onlookers to the fantastic going on around them.
Finn

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
Ayzel plans her own death in many different ways every day. The only problem is that she doesn’t think she can do it alone. She finds a solution on a website that matches up suicide partners. There she meets Roman, whose life was rocked by a family tragedy almost a year ago. As their final day draws near, Ayzel finds herself questioning if this is the right thing to do. Will they go through with their pact?
Torey

Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles by CLAMP
Shaoran is a young boy who lives in a strange world. He is a miner working under order of the princess of the country that he lives in. One day, a monster attacks, and shatters the princess’ soul into pieces. They are scattered into different dimensions. The priest working under the princess is able to transport Shaoran to a witch who helps him travel through dimensions, and recover the pieces of the princess’ soul. He meets two men along the way. Kurogane, an aggressive, clumsy swordsman, and Fai, a calm, intelligent wizard. These two men have their own reasons to travel through dimensions, and agree to help Shaoran in his quest, and save his princess.
Xander

Picks from the Sir William Stephenson YAC

oldschool watershipdown obsidianmirror legend lordoftheflies

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 10 Old School by Jeff Kinney
Greg has to deal with the old fashioned way of life when his town goes electronics free.
Nick

Watership Down by Richard Adams
Fiver, a young rabbit, foresees a horrible catastrophe to befall his home warren. Fiver convinces his older brother Hazel to flee their warren to find a safer place to live. Hazel, along with other rabbits, trust Fiver’s visions and set off into the unknown, searching for another place to call home.
Michael

Obsidian Mirror by Catherine Fisher
The Obsidian Mirror is an ancient artifact that holds immense power. The question lies on who gets to use it. Should a zealous boy who’s father went missing, a man who despairs on bringing a dear wife back, or a young girl who intends to save the future? Beware, for the Mirror has more from what it seems, that even supernatural beings join the rumble. The book’s plot flabbergasts with beautiful complexity.
Andrea

Legend by Marie Lu
The Dystopian world of future USA, two divisions are in constant war. Meanwhile, June, the Republic’s young prodigy, investigates her brother’s murder. Day, an infamous criminal, aims to keep his family alive from the threats of the new plague. As the two crossed paths, they gradually realize that maybe the truths to all of these lay somewhere else. Read on to know what terrible secrets lurk around the Republic’s coasts. Be sure to expect tons of action and romance!
Andrea

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
A group of boys get stuck on an uninhabited island after a plane crash. They must work together in order to survive, but it ends up becoming due unforeseen circumstances
Karla

Picks from the Transcona YAC

seaoftranquility bornatmidnight

Born at Midnight by C. C. Hunter
Fantasy, drama, action! It takes the main character into a whole other world she never knew existed.
Jenna

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
An unforgettable read that allows us to relate to the main character, beyond what we expected.
Emma

I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti
A historic Italian Thriller that takes place in the 1950s. It keeps you on the edge of your seat while you worry about all the characters.
Alex

 

How many have you read from this list?

Interested in joining one of our Youth Advisory Councils? Check out this page for more information on how to apply!

Leave a Reply